About us

Kosova Education Center (KEC) is a non-governmental and not-for- profit organization founded in 2000 with the idea of focusing on provision of in-service teacher training programs. This still remains an important aspect of its operations, but, in course of time, KEC has expanded its scope of work in four key areas: 1) Quality of Education, 2) Human Rights; 3) Networking and participation in policy making, and 4) Education research. KEC has a wide range of local and international partners that consist of non-governmental organizations, consulting companies, development agencies and state institutions.

Since 2004, the school “Mileniumi i Tretë” operates within KEC, and carries out its activities in primary and secondary education.

Work Report 2017



Mission

Develop the capacity for advancing the education system by providing high quality services and resources, and by cooperating actively with all stakeholders in and outside the country.

Vision

Development of an effective and all-inclusive education system, which contributes to the sustainable economy and social development of the country, by preparing citizens to become lifelong learners and to participate actively in a democratic life.

What We Do

Improving the Quality of Education

This category mainly includes training programs for teachers and school managers, but also for other participants. KEC has 68 such programs, through which over 30,000 participants were trained. Most of these training programs have been developed within international projects and are accredited by the MEST. Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking and Step by Step are two of the oldest and still the most required training programs offered by KEC, and their content has been now included in the Faculty of Education Programs.

Human Rights

KEC has started implementing projects linked to human rights in 2003, with the main focus on children's rights. Such projects have helped develop guidelines and methodologies for the protection of children's rights in schools, violence prevention, and other activities that strengthen children’s rights. The protocol for the prevention of violence developed under this program is approved by the Government and is now being implemented in schools of Kosovo. Other projects in this area are those related to the rights of the Roma, Ashkali and Egyptian communities. These projects ensure inclusion of these communities into society, and improve the quality of educational services provided to them.

Networking and Participation in Policy Making

KEC has implemented numerous projects in networking and policy making with similar organizations from Kosovo and abroad, in order to build the capacity to participate in educational policy making and human rights. Such projects have helped the civil society organizations in Kosovo and other Balkan countries to be active in shaping educational policies at the central and local level.

Education Research

Research carried out by KEC is usually of the applied nature. The goal is to analyze certain education and research-related topics from the perspective of best practices or the state of affairs, and provide recommendations for improvements. In this regard, KEC conducts evaluation of projects implemented by third parties, but also the analyses that should inform decision-making on a particular issue.

ISO 9001:2015 Certification

KEC’s Quality Management System is certified to ISO 9001:2015 by an Accredited Certification Body. The scope of certification includes:

“Design, development, management and delivery of projects and training programs in the field of education, human rights, youth and social services”.

This certification demonstrates our commitment to quality.

Quality Policy

ISO 9001:2015 Certificate

Board

  • Halim Hyseni

    Member

  • Ganimete Kulinxha

    Board Director

  • Luan Shllaku

    Member

  • Besa Luzha

    Member

  • Alush Kryeziu

    Member

Staff

  • Dukagjin Pupovci
    Executive Director

    dpupovci@kec-ks.org

  • Nora Tafarshiku
    Administrative Director

    nora@kec-ks.org

  • Gëzim Hyseni
    Administrator

    ghyseni@kec-ks.org

  • Melinda Mula
    Program Manager

    mmula@kec-ks.org

  • Hana Zylfiu-Haziri
    Program Manager

    hzylfiu@kec-ks.org

  • Keith Prenton
    Program Director

    ASSET

    kprenton@kec-ks.org

  • Valmira Haxhaj Gushlla
    Program Director

    ASSET

    vhaxhaj@kec-ks.org

  • Luljeta Belegu-Demjaha
    Program Manager

    ASSET

    ldemjaha@kec-ks.org

  • Andelina Kamberi
    Finance and Office Manager

    ASSET

    akamberi@kec-ks.org

  • Petrit Tahiri
    Project Manager

    ptahiri@kec-ks.org

  • Ardita Kabashi
    Project Manager

    akabashi@kec-ks.org

  • Kushtrim Bajrami
    Project Manager

    kbajrami@kec-ks.org

  • Drilon Krasniqi
    Project Manager

    dkrasniqi@kec-ks.org

  • Driton Berisha
    Project Manager

    dberisha@kec-ks.org

  • Luan Tufa
    Project Officer

    ltufa@kec-ks.org

  • Anyla Dautaj
    Communication Officer

    adautaj@kec-ks.org

  • Ema Rraci
    Monitoring Officer

    erraci@kec-ks.org

  • Arlinda Bajgora
    Project Manager

    SDG

    abajgora@kec-ks.org

  • Arsim Ilazi
    Technical Officer

    ASSET

    ailazi@kec-ks.org

  • Jehona Xhaferi
    Project Manager

    KOSINT2020

    jxhaferi@kec-ks.org

  • Gentiana Isufi
    Intern

    ASSET

    gisufi@kec-ks.org

  • Shpend Bajoku
    Finance/Office Assistant

    ASSET

    shbajoku@kec-ks.org

  • Edona Begu
    Monitoring Officer

    SDG

    ebegu@kec-ks.org

  • Vilma Biba
    Monitoring, Evaluation, and Communication Officer

    ASSET

    vbiba@kec-ks.org

  • Fjolla Xharra
    Project Officer

    fxharra@kec-ks.org

  • Merima Dubova-Galimuna
    Project Officer

    mgalimuna@kec-ks.org

  • Selami Thaqi
    Logistics/Supplies Officer

    sthaqi@kec-ks.org

  • Sokol Statovci
    Logistics/Supplies Officer

    sstatovci@kec-ks.org

  • Xhevahire Tahiri
    Housekeeper

    xheva@kec-ks.org

Partners and Donors